Jesse O’Connor Preservation Award

Teton County Historic Preservation Board

On Tuesday, September 27th Graham-Faupel-Mendenhall was honored at the 2017 Plaque & Award Ceremony.

What is the award?

For the second time ever, the Teton County Historic Preservation Board presents the Jesse O’Connor Preservation Award to recognize and celebrate the efforts and accomplishments of those individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions to preserving the historic resources of Teton County. The awarded properties follow 3 criteria: highly visible, integrity from original structure and historical significance.

What were our contributions?

Graham-Faupel-Mendenhall was awarded for their respectful and innovative moving of a historic log cabin followed by a sensitive rehabilitation. Built in 1934, The Cottage has survived the harshest winters Wyoming has thrown at her without a hiccup.  Once on the outskirts of town by the race track; her location on Millward Street quickly became one of the most central locations in Jackson Hole.  Countless families have started their lives in this cozy 500 square feet.  In 2016 she was relocated to Simpson Street in East Jackson.  She is punctuated by a cottonwood tree growing through a wagon wheel that is there to this day providing housing for the community.

A wonderful evening…

Among a handful of giants in the field of Jackson Hole preservation, such as the Mead family and the Rockefeller’s,  Graham-Faupel-Mendenhall is honored to have played a small part in historic preservation in our beloved town. We look forward to future opportunities to contribute to the Teton County Historic Preservation Board.

Thank you to Jesse O’Connor, Kurt Dubbe, Katherine Wonson and all the members of the Teton County Historic Preservation Board!